Well since this is my blog and it’s about my life not just our home updates (although sometimes it seems that way), I have a bit of news. Good news and bad news. Good news first.
This afternoon I got a phone call from the Chair of the Occupational Therapy School at a local university. She called to ask if I was going to re-apply for my Master’s for the February 2011 entrance class. I applied last year, had an interview but was not accepted. I never intended on re-applying and it was an honor she decided to call me out of the blue. They didn’t tell me at the time but did today that I was very close to getting in and they are still interested in considering my application. This is totally my dream come true! I really want to become an Occupational Therapist!
The bad news? The school is 2 hours away and we just moved a month ago so moving down there isn’t wise. Plus my husband has a job here, not there. Also it’s a two-and-a-half year program. That is a long time to go without seeing your husband. Obviously there will be breaks in the school year and I will be doing clinicals for a year (of course applying to do them where we currently live). So that will cut the time apart in half, which is good. I think the first year and a half will be the worst though. All books, no play .. from what I’ve heard from other OT students. 
My husband and I have gone back and forth about moving there, not moving there; when we get to see each other; holidays; can we afford it; where I will live. Living on campus seems to be the best option. It’s just under $9000 for all three years to live on campus in a single room including a meal plan and I won’t even be there the entire time. They allow you to pay per-month or per-semester so it will probably be less than that. Hey, I’m trying to stay positive here. 
I am trying to convince Brad to stay here in our new home and when I graduate I can get a job up here. We already have put so much into this house. We love the location. We love the house. We love the layout. Whenever we have kids, the schools are fantastic. The town was just voted one of the best in the nation and has been the past four years.
But I have to get accepted first .. right ..
