Well it really isn’t Day One since I have been using the elliptical the past few days consistently, but it’s the first day I am taking CONTROL. The first day I am going to track my every move. Now if you aren’t a fan of blubber then please feel free to dismiss this post. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Here are some of my tips for weight loss success:
1. WEIGH YOURSELF IN THE MORNING. It is best to weigh yourself in the morning right after you use the restroom and before eating anything. That is the closest number to you actual weight. Also, weighing yourself at the same time each time will help with consistency and to see the best progress.
2. WEIGH YOURSELF NO MORE THAN ONCE A WEEK. If you weight yourself constantly on a daily basis then you won’t see results, which can be discouraging. The weight won’t come off daily because it didn’t come on overnight. There is a scientific term for those people that have to weight themselves daily: obsessed. It’s true, I have the books to back that up.
Here is my embarassing starting weight.
3. TRACK AND MEASURE EVERYTHING. Everything that you are looking to improve (waist measurements, BMI, weight, etc), make sure you keep track of them or you won’t be able to definitively see your results.
Now here are some calculations to get you started:
Body Mass Index (BMI) = weight (in kg) / height (in meters squared)
Waist-to-hip ratio (WHR) = waist / hip *
*any measurements are fine as long as both are the same unit (cm, in, etc)

To find out your weight in kg simply divide your weight in pounds by 2.2!
To find out your height in meters squared simply convert your height to inches and multiply by 0.0254 and then square that number (aka multiply it by itself).
4. DO NOT ONLY WEIGHT YOURSELF. A lot of times we tend to lose inches before weight or notice other subtle and positive differences since making lifestyle changes. If you feel better, have more energy or notice that your pants are fitting better then you are seeing progress, so focus on those positive things. It’s not all about weight.
Here are a few pics to show you how to measure circumferences:
This is your “hip” measurement. “With the subject standing erect and feet together, a horizontal measurement is taken at the MAXIMAL CIRCUMFERENCE of buttocks.” (ACSM)
Sorry .. in advance .. for this gross picture. Gotta love stretch marks (even though I don’t have any kids .. grr).
This is your “waist” measurement. “With the subject standing, arms at the sides, feet together and abdomen relaxed, a horizontal measure is taken at the narrowest part of the torso (above the [belly button] and below the xiphoid process).” (ACSM)
The xiphoid process, for those that do not know, is the hard bone where your ribs meet at the bottom/front of your rib cage. It’s a common land mark for CPR.
So for the best measurements, you will want a tape measure that is flimsy but not stretchy. As you can see from my pictures I don’t have one so the next best thing to do is take a non-stretchy string (I used twine) and measure it, then place on a regular tape measure.
So I was debating whether or not to take a good “Before” shot right now in order to compare to September when we go on our cruise. I will take one but I only want to post with an “After” picture so I will go take one now and then post updated pictures in August (for my friend’s wedding) and then before our cruise (because you know they have 24/7 ice cream machines and I will gain at least 5 pounds on that ship!).
Also, if you have any questions or need any information please feel free to contact me! I got all the information in this post from ACSM’s Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription, 7th edition.
